More than a magazine, a movement


Editorial Staff

Ms. Magazine Online


Editors Emeriti

Marcia Ann Gillespie, Elaine Lafferty, Suzanne Braun Levine, Robin Morgan

Founding Editors

Patricia Carbine, Joanne Edgar, Nina Finkelstein, Mary Peacock, Letty Cottin Pogrebin, Gloria Steinem

Advisory Board

Justine Andronici, Kathy Bonk, Martha Burk, Ph.D., Gaylynn Burroughs, Nohelia Canales, Abigail Disney, Kim Gandy, Beverly Guy-Sheftall, Ph.D., Elizabeth Hemmerdinger, Dolores Huerta, Lisa Lee, Ph.D., Camryn Manheim, Rielle Montague, Kathy Najimy, Amy Richards, Alix Ritchie, Lorraine Sheinberg, Eleanor Smeal, Jane E. Smith, Ed.D., Katherine Spillar, Ronnie Steinberg, Ph.D., Gloria Steinem, Jenny Warburg, Evelyn White, Peg Yorkin, Helen Zia

Committee of Scholars

Chair Emeritus: Bonnie Thornton Dill, Ph.D., Dean, College of Arts and Humanities University of Maryland, College Park; Co-Chair: Carrie N. Baker, J.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director, Program for the Study of Women and Gender Studies, Smith College; Co-Chair: R. Dianne Bartlow, Gender and Women’s Studies, CA State, Northridge; Michele Tracy Berger, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Women’s and Gender Studies, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Kum-Kum Bhavnani, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology & Chair, Women, Culture, Development Program, University of California, Santa Barbara; Audrey Bilger, Ph.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the College, Pomona College; Kelly Brown Douglas, Ph.D., Elizabeth Conolly Todd Distinguished Professor of Religion, Chair, Department of Philosophy and Religion, Goucher College; Nohelia Canales, M.S.; Jennifer Cognard-Black, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of English, and Coordinator, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Program, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Department of English; Brittney Cooper, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Women’s and Gender Studies/Africana Studies, Rutgers University; Irasema Coronado, Ph.D., Professor of Political Science, University of Texas at El Paso; Norlisha (Tish) Crawford, Ph.D., English and African American Studies, University of Wisconsin, Osh Kosh; Aviva Dove-Viebahn, Ph.D., Honors Faculty Fellow, Barrett, The Honors College, Arizona State University, Website Content Manager, Society for Cinema and Media Studies; Julie R. Enszer, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor, University of Maryland, College Park; Radhika Gajjala, Ph.D., Professor, School of Media and Communication and American Culture Studies Program, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, Ohio, Co-editor, ADA: Journal of Gender, New Media and Technology and Co-editor of ADA: Journal of Gender and New Media; Nicole Guidotti-Hernandez, Ph.D., Associate Professor of American Studies and Center for Mexican American Studies, University of Texas at Austin; Kelly Finley, M.A., Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor, Women’s and Gender Studies, UNC Charlotte; Kryn Freehling-Burton, M.A., Senior Lecturer and Coordinator, E-Campus, Gender and Women’s Studies, School of Language, Culture, and Society, Oregon State University; Beverly Guy-Sheftall, Ph.D., Anna Julia Cooper Professor of Women’s Studies, Chair, Women’s Research and Resource Center/Comparative Women’s Studies, Spelman College; Janell Hobson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Women’s Studies/Graduate Director, University at Albany, SUNY; Ileana Jiménez, English Department, LREI-Little Red School House and Elisabeth Irwin High School; Valerie Ann Johnson, Ph.D., Mott Professor and Director, Africana Women’s Studies, Bennett College; Karon Jolna, Ph.D., Program Director and Editor, Ms. Classroom, Research Affiliate, UCLA Center for the Study of Women; L.S. Kim, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Film and Digital Media, University of California, Santa Cruz; Allison Kimmich, Ph.D., Executive Director, National Women’s Studies Association; Kimi Lynn King, J.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor, Political Science, University of North Texas; M. Bahati Kuumba, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Women’s Studies/Associate Director of the Women’s Research Center, Spelman College; Lisa Yun Lee, Ph.D., Director, UIC School of Art and Art History, Visiting Curator, Jane Addams Hull-House Museum; Yi-Chun Tricia Lin, Ph.D., Director & Professor, Women’s Studies Program, Southern Connecticut State University; C. Nicole Mason, Ph.D., Executive Director, Center for Research and Policy in the Public Interest, CR2PI at the New York Women’s Foundation; Layli Maparyan, Ph.D., Katherine Stone Kaufmann ’67 Executive Director, Wellesley Centers for Women, Professor of Africana Studies, Wellesley College, Cheever House; Irma McClaurin, Ph.D., McClaurin Solutions; Michelle McGibbney Vlahoulis, M.A., Women’s and Gender Studies, School of Social Transformation, Arizona State University; Linda Perkins, Ph.D., Associate University Professor & Director of Applied Women’s Studies & Africana Studies Certificate Program, Claremont Graduate University; Barbara Ransby, Ph.D., Professor of Gender & Women’s Studies, African-American Studies and History, Director of Gender & Women’s Studies, University of Illinois at Chicago, Department of History; Susan M. Shaw, Ph.D., Professor of Women’s Studies, Transitional Director of the School of Language, Culture, and Society, Oregon State University; Carol Stabile, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Women’s Studies, Managing Editor, Fembot Collective, University of Maryland, College Park; Nayereh Tohidi, Ph.D., Professor, Gender and Women’s Studies Department, California State University, Northridge; Patricia Trujillo, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of English and Director of Writing and Rhetoric, Northern New Mexico College; Gina Athena Ulysse, Ph.D., Anthropology, Wesleyan University; Jennifer D. Williams, Ph.D., English, Howard University